About Hancock Cinemas
Hancock's first cinema was
built by The Odd Fellows (an international service-oriented
organization) in 1909 to hold meetings and provide a common area for
local events. The Rebekahs (the female auxiliary
of The Odd Fellows) also utilized the property for meetings.
From the 1930ís until the mid-1960ís, the Capitol Theatre was run by Eva and Harvey D. English, Jr. as part of the H.D. English theater chain, Harden Theatres.
As television grew, and the local population declined, the movie theatre business became difficult to maintain. After 4 owners since Harvey English, in 2000 the Capital Theatre discontinued operation as a Movie Theatre. The 35MM arc lamp projector, and giant 38 foot screen were sold off. For a time between 2003-2016, the Capitol Theatre hosted live performances by the Old Capitol Theater Players, Little Victory Players, and original plays by Judith Present.
After the Capital discontinued exhibiting movies, Capra Cinemas was formed to fill the void left in the local community. Capra Enterprises, a partnership between Donald Rajoppi and James Cutrone opened the brand new twin cinema in 2001 in the West End of the village.
In October of 2016 Capra Cinemas changed hands. Cindy and Mike Argiros, long known in the community as enterprising and public minded, purchased Capra Cinemas, and renamed the new venture, Hancock Cinemas.
After making extensive renovations, and installing a new digital projector at a cost over $70,000, the former Capra Cinemas became Hancock Cinemas. It's doors reopened on November 4, 2016, featuring "Dr. Strange", starring Benedict Cumberbatch.
The newly renovated theatres boast 2 state of the art digital projectors. The Hancock Cinemas Cineplex is comprised of two theatres, a 150 seat cinema and 300 seat cinema. Our concession stand offers a variety of snacks, drinks, and of course, hot, fresh buttered pop corn.
Hancock Cinemas hopes to see you soon! And often!